283 Comments
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
deletedFeb 15, 2023·edited Feb 15, 2023
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
deletedFeb 15, 2023·edited Feb 15, 2023
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
deletedFeb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
deletedFeb 15, 2023·edited Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

A Symphony to the Dark - A Welsh dark Fantasy/ Supernatural about a girl who longs to be a singer, a cursed house and the darkness that stalks the halls.

Rough draft is 65K but will hopefully be completed around 85K.

Looking for a cheerleader to help me through second draft and someone to read through and point out where the plot is completely going wrong (or right…which I hope happens too).

Diolch/ Thank you!!

Expand full comment

Ok let’s try this... I’m looking for a CP or beta reader for a graphic novel script. If you’re familiar with any kind of script reading you’ll probably be able to read/critique. 🤞🏼

Title: Goodbye City

Genre: sci-fi/post apocalyptic Graphic Novel

Reading level: YA

Word count: 36k

What you’re looking for in a reader: someone that can help point out plot problems, character growth, and overall has a good sense of story

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023·edited Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Reverie and Ruin, a YA contemporary fantasy (not finished with draft, working on second half).

Looking for beta reader when the draft if finished (April 2023) for cheerleading for second draft, and first impression on world-building, pacing, characters and mystery!

Rough pitch is The Curseworkers + The Magicians + Monstress

Expand full comment

A Kingdom of Secrets & Sacrifice

Urban Fantasy, Time Travel

YA Crossover

90,000

I'd love you to read until you're bored and then tell me where you stopped, so that I can figure out where I'm losing the agents.

I'll read what you have in turn. I also have an audio version (pretty lifelike), since it's sometimes easier to read on the move.

Thank you!

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Title: Fusion, about two girls living disparate lives on a warring continent who discover they share a telepathic bond.

Genre: Science-Fiction/Dystopia

Reading level: YA/NA (still deciding which)

Word count: 100k + 😬

Looking for someone to beta and/or critique. The story has only ever seen my eyes and it needs an objective, clinical look.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

The Slayer and her Shadow- a ya/new adult fantasy about a girl whose destiny is to slay a shadow god, only to end up with the god bound to her shadow. enemies to lovers, gods, skyrim-medieval feel, elemental magic system, themes of self identity and pursuing one’s own life choices.

i’ve finished outlining and worldbuilding and honestly need a cheerleader to help me start the process- i write fanfiction and have gotten too attached to immediate gratification. 😅

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Hi!!

Like a Million Suns -- a sci-fi fantasy in a country inspired by Hispanic culture, namely Puerto Rican. Between YA and adult, I feel like it can bounce between either age range. Word Count: A whopping 164K, what I really want is someone to be brutal (but nice! haha) on what to chop.

And here's my logline! : Following disappearances of children and fantastical creatures, a devastating weapon emerges while an escapee and black market hustler are accused of assassinating a prince, drawing them into the turmoil.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Mischief & Mizery - an adult fantasy adventure following a tiefling named Mizery (goes by Miz) and her smuggling crew. (Based on my retired D&D character). Think heists, rivalries, magic, and betrayal.

Draft is currently almost finished. Will likely be around 60k. Like Kate, I’m looking for someone to begin swapping with in April as I go through the second draft and flesh things out.

Looking for feedback on pacing and tension, as well as humor and an overall general opinion.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

The Lost Kingdom

Middle Grade Fantasy (second-world). (see below for query)

MG

60,000

Thorough edits and a cheerleader! I've sent some queries and generally the feedback I received was they loved my concept, but not my pages. So I'm looking to change that. :) I'm in my final drafts, so I'm hoping for someone around the same stage -- prepping for trad querying.

Here's my query letter for anyone wanting more info! If you're interested, please let me know. :)

Twelve-year-old Ren Everhart has a problem: she can’t use her healing magic without her dad by her side, and she knows it won’t be long until she loses her apprenticeship because of it. But Ren’s problem gets even bigger when her dad goes missing, and she seems to be the only person wanting to find him.

She thinks she’s found a solution in an old book of legends. According to the book, the Lost Kingdom is home to magical beings who will grant Ren a wish if she can find them. Using her wish, Ren can reunite with her dad—and keep her apprenticeship. Together with a telepathic prince, his shape-shifting twin, and a farm boy, Ren sets off to find a place that might not exist but is her only hope at bringing her dad home.

But Ren and her friends aren’t the only ones hunting for the Lost Kingdom. In a world humming with dark magic, letting the Lost Kingdom fall into the wrong hands would be deadly for everyone. But all that matters to Ren is saving her dad’s life—even if it means she has to save the world along with it.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Hi all! I’d love to find a critique partner for my adult Regency romance, super tentatively titled “Twice Married.” Ideally, I’d be interested in connecting with someone who also writes in that subgenre.

I completed the first draft last year and am in the middle of revisions. The manuscript is currently around 65,000 words. It’s got the marriage of convenience and friends-to-lovers tropes plus a strong female friendship and complex family dynamics.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Title: Rum Gully Girl

Genre: Contemporary romance with speculative elements

Reading level: Upper YA

Word count: Currently revising the rough draft to meet 80,000 words

Comps/themes/tropes etc.:

WE DON’T SWIM HERE x LORDS OF DOGTOWN x THE OUTERBANKS

-Biracial Filipina MC

-Setting as character (a cursed, small coastal town in South Carolina)

-Grungy crew of pirate-descended skateboarders

-Enemies to friends to lovers

-Slow burn, angsty, forbidden romance

-Forced proximity

-Pirate lore/history

-Sirens

-Dual POV

-Reincarnation

- MC must go through the initiation process before she belongs

- “Does this scare you?”

I’ve finished the first draft of my manuscript and am currently in revisions. The first 8 chapters have been revised and are ready for a second pair of eyes. I would love to find a critique partner and cheerleader to help push me through revisions in an honest yet encouraging way. I’m mostly concerned about pacing and plot holes at the moment. Would prefer someone who’s already familiar with critique etiquette. In return, you can expect me to return the same energy, to be honest yet encouraging. I also have an MFA in creative writing and a master’s in library and information science so I’m very familiar with all things books and creative writing :) Thank you!

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023·edited Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

"Epitaph" - YA Fantasy with a touch of adventure

It's a book all about subverting classic fantasy tropes.

Ellowen is a wild child princess with a curse that will never be broken. With the Chosen One dead and Fate destroyed, the hero destined to free her will never come. She yearns for excitement, which is difficult to find under the iron grip of her mother. It seems her life will finally be shaken up when she is placed in an arranged marriage. However, Ellowen is horrified to find that her fiancé is the son of the Dark Lord. Despite her ill feelings toward him, he seems to be her last hope to break the curse and get her ultimate dream; freedom. That is, unless Ellowen can find another option...

The story follows her quest to find an alternative way to break her curse. I don't want to give too much away spoiler-wise, but know that the book is primarily a fantasy adventure with travel and action and character drama.

Finished and revised draft is around 101,000 words (or 380 ish Word pages double spaced).

I'm looking for something to give honest feedback about big picture elements, such as character development, plot, and general pacing. Basically, you get to read semi-casually and discuss what works and what doesn't!

Email me at: emilygibbsauthor@gmail.com to talk! I'll try to check the comments here, but I may not spot them in a timely manner haha.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Title: Beholden to God & King

Genre: High Fantasy

Reading level: YA

Word count: NA

What I'm looking for is a constructive reader. I'm not going to lie, a cheerleader would be nice a nice boost, a vote of confidence goes a long way in the gruelling and competitive process of publishing. Sometimes I stew in my insecurity that I'm not good enough and neither is my work. But above a avid supporter, I need someone who is going to be brutally honest with criticism and feedback that won't throttle me but help me improve. And hopefully, you do become immersed in the read, so it doesn't feel like a task.

Please and thank you! I appreciate your invaluable time for any takers.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023·edited Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Hi, new here, looking forward to making some friends.

Currently polishing a YA fantasy based on Bulgarian folklore, getting it ready to query. Would always appreciate more feedback and would love a critique partner for the query too.

It's finished at almost 90k.

Next project already brewing is an Adult speculative I'd like to pitch as The Good Place x Seven (of only the comps were not ancient, haha). It's still in the plotting stage before 0 draft, but in the meantime I'd have more time to give feedback than receive ;))

More about me: I'm mostly a fantasy reader/writer, but I aim to read more widely. I'm an old school metalhead, mom of two (little one is only a couple of months old), which makes finding time to read and write more challenging, but there's still hope :))

I hope i find some kindred spirits on here!

Cheers!

Expand full comment

Always, Audrey White -- an upmarket, contemporary queer adult novel about an only child who, after her dad unexpectedly passes away, finds out that she has a long-lost sister -- who is the result of a polyamorous relationship between her mom, dad, and her sister's mom long ago.

Draft is completed at 81K

Looking for a reader to critique and give advice about what works and what doesn't, especially in the beginning as I'm querying agents currently with this manuscript.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023·edited Feb 16, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Title: Project Divided

Dark high fantasy, second half still unfinished, first half is about 60/70k. Adult

About: A runaway son of a noble, on a journey to earn his freedom from an ancient cult of magic. A crown Prince with magic he can’t control, who might just have to turn over every hidden secret in the palace in order to get answers.

And a murder mystery that forces them to work together— for better or worse.

Reader: I feel like it’s a bit messy right now w/ several side plots so looking for someone who can help me get the big stuff all aligned, so I can revise for the small stuff later! (And as said above— for now it’s just the first half of the novel.)

Central themes: friendship, right and wrong, family, magic, curses, imperial politics, adventure, ancient magical cults & mafia, murder, minor side romanc, LGBT.

Contact: IG linked in profile (thewriteratlas) Can also email, egwwriter @ gmail.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Working title: Shoes

Genre: Fantasy—alternate reality, urban, and environmental

Adult

Haden is a wizard barely passing his university classes when one day his favorite pair of shoes that his father gave him as a gift are stolen by goblins. He has to go to Goblin Island in order to get them back but becomes trapped there. That is when he is discovered by Liza, a powerful wizard hiding from the government on the island, who tells him the island is being drained of its magic and is slowly dying. The only way he can get off the island and back to his life is if he makes a deal with her and helps find the person draining the island's magic.

Content warning: my main character does have a history of a mentaly abusive non-romantic relationship that will come up in the book as well as a history of mental illness.

I don't have comps but Jasper Fforde comes to mind in some of the humor, I think?

I'm on my second draft and have completed fourteen chapters so far. I will be done with it at the end of march probably around 90-95K words. I am more than willing to start swapping chapters now until I can send the rest of the draft later. I would really love a CP who can help give feedback on tension, world building, and character development and I would be more than willing to do the same. I'd be best at reading mostly sci/fi fantasy but also historical fiction.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Title: All These Violent Ends, a fantasy about a supernatural mercenary and his would be victim who become blood bonded together and find out both of their lives aren't what they thought they were.

Genre: Fantasy with strong romantic subplot

Reading level: Adult

Word count: 96,600

What you’re looking for in a reader: A thorough editorial pass. I've edited this a few times, but want to get new eyes on it and opinions!

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Soul of the Familiar -YA Fantasy, 98k, looking for structural comments / character feedback (ie gut check).

One Paragraph Pitch:

After grief robs Brynn Novak of the will to live, it’s her abduction by a strange white-haired man that robs her of her home. Her senior dog Effie in tow, Brynn discovers a new world where magic is wielded through the aid of a familiar—and it just so happens that Effie is one of them. After finding love, confidence, and healing, Brynn overcomes her limitations, both self-imposed and magical, to rescue the man she loves from a genocidal, power-hungry despot—her father.

Thank you!

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023·edited Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Hi! I'm looking for a CP / accountability partner. Would love to find someone who will bug me to send them 20-ish pages a week. I'll do the same for you (whatever your goal is).

Current project: YA mystery. Pitch is Hype House meets Only Murders In The Building, with a sprinkling of The Maid. Teen housekeeper with chronic illness has to team up w/ a popular YouTuber to investigate a murder in an influencer mansion. Comps more to The Agathas or Truly Devious than, say, The Cheerleaders. CW for murder and discussion of past death of a parent. (projected length is 75K)

I'm previously published in YA and am trying to get back in. I'll also soon be drafting an adult upmarket historical (set in the 1970s NYC theatre scene).

I love critiquing and beta reading. However, I'm MUCH better at feedback for contemp-set books. I will definitely struggle to provide strong feedback for second-world fantasy or anything with a complex magic system. I read mostly romance, adult litfic, and contemp YA.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023·edited Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Oh how I’ve been looking for something like this! Thank you, Sooz!

IN THE WICKED DAYS

YA Contemporary Fantasy I’d pitch as WILD IS THE WITCH x OUTLANDER. A Salem-esque town haunted by mysterious tragedy, gay warlock lovers locked in a slow burn romance, a cursed sister hellbent on revenge, magical time travel, a bloody October gala, a crow familiar named Pierre… it’s all there :)

Currently 2/3 into the first draft (about 55k in) and I’d love to swap chapters with other writers. I’m looking for both cheerleaders and critiques when necessary! Stuff like pacing, show vs telling, etc. let me know!

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

What Tangled Webs We Weave

- a YA dark academia, romance-free urban/fantasy/sci-fi that follows four queer teens on their perilous quest to seal a magical rift between the fabrics of their four dimensions.

it's like star-crossed lovers but make it platonic, because all four protagonists' are bound to each other by an invisible thread through time and space. they have to navigate dimensions deceived of lies, treachery, as well as face the consequences of their past mistakes and actions. it combines lots of my favorite things, such as found family and my love for astrophysics and astronomy (yes there is time-travel involved too). The idea is still in the makes so the main plot is still subject to change.

I'm still working on the first draft( just planning and outlining it so far, no actual writing) but I'm hoping to have the whole thing done by the end of April 2023(I'm ambitious because I'm following a 12-week novel writing plan), and I'd like someone to bounce off ideas with throughout my process. If you have a project on your own, I'd love to be there to cheerlead/help with ideas/inspiration/motivation as well.

Expand full comment

Exciting! I would love to try and connect with other writers.

I'm looking for: first impression feedback on plot, style, world and characters. I'm also interested in finding a writing buddy in my genre. You read mine, I read yours, we support each other.

My work: The Blue Bastard

Genre & reading level: New Adult Fantasy

Word count: 153,371 words

Story is about two girls who discover their colour magic in a world where countries are coming to a clash. There's romance, cats, combat action, rock climbing and visually interesting magic.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Hi Everyone,

I have an almost completed draft of a Middle Grade magical realism adventure.

Title: Dragon and Phoenix

The story is driven by twins who discover they are linked to a prophecy and have a destiny to fulfill.

I would love writer friends and a critique partner to work through voice, plot, pacing, and general feedback. I would love to do the same for a MG or YA manuscript.

Let me know!

Expand full comment

Loughshore (Hall & Monroe #1)

Mystery - Conspiracy Thriller/Northern Irish Crime

Adult

Currently at 44k pushing toward 70k

Looking for all of the above; gut checks, editorial pass, cheerleader, and all around writing buddy!

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

I have a completed and polished 76K word YA thriller that I comp to TWO CAN KEEP A SECRET and SADIE. When 16-yo Addison's plan to catch her sister's murderer goes horribly awry, she must go totally off script if she's to avoid becoming the killer's next victim.

I am looking for someone who also writes thrillers (YA or A) and has a completed manuscript to swap pages. I just went through my final revision and would like feedback on pacing and plot (including any plot holes I may have opened along the way).

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Hi! I'm looking for an accountability buddy/ cheerleader and CP for the project I'm currently working on. To test the waters, I'm looking for honest feedback on my hook, whether the magic system makes sense and the likeability of my characters. Am willing to support you in any shape you'd like, whether it's cheerleading or thorough critiquing :-).

I'm looking for someone also writing adult fantasy, since I'm not really equipped to critique MG or YA! I'm based in Europe.

Working title: The 10th Mage

Adult, aiming for ~100k

High Fantasy, Multi-POV (3 to be precise)

Vibes& tags: adventure, found family, queer,

Content warnings: assault (implied to have happened in the past/ not on page), post-war setting & a major tonal shift mid-way through the story

A (very unpolished and hastily writtern :,D) blurb:

One month of freedom for Isaac Farrow, finally escaping the restricting walls of his home where his duty as a mage and as guard captain keep him from living on his own terms. One moth full of lies and deception for Vind, trying desperately to keep his magic hidden from his own friends. One month for the catalyst hunting team to prove their worth and uncover a relic from the Great Mage War. One month until some of them will return - and none of it will matter anymore.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Reverse Time (very rough working title)

Adult m/m fantasy romance of 98.000 words

When the emperor's autistic husband returns to his homeland to calm down uprisings, he is kidnapped by the rebels and must choose between his loyalty and love for his husband, or doing what's right and helping his people, and perhaps fall for a very attractive rebel fighter.

I'm almost finished with the second draft and am looking for a beta/critique partner who can help me identify the strenghts and weaknesses of the draft and help mainly with the developmental edits

CW: disordered eating, toxic relationship (not the main pairing)

Expand full comment

Hi everyone😊Vampire rom-com set in Eastern Europe here -- early draft form. Seeking someone who can look at the overall strengths & weaknesses to tell me what the most interesting parts are & what they’d expect to happen next. I’m happy to read anything except erotica. Please send me a message with your contact details through the contact form on my website: www.jwellenhall.com

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Hello everyone!

I’m looking for CPs and Betas. This is my fourth draft and I plan to query as soon as I can. I’m looking for constructive criticism, mostly big-picture notes (general plot, characters, pacing... )

Title: Blood of Abyssinia

Word count: 102k

Genre & age: YA Fantasy

It’s a multi-POV fantasy adventure story inspired by Ethiopian mythology. It follows a girl who has to team up with a ragtag group of dangerous people to find a hidden city of sorcerers in order to save her spirit-possessed brother.

Comps/tropes: THE STARDUST THIEF x A SONG OF WRAITHS & RUIN

- Found family

- Pantheon of gods

- Nature magic

- Spirit-infested forest

- East African setting

- Mythological creatures

I read mostly YA and Adult Fantasy/Sci-Fi. Occasionally MG too. I’d love to swap! We can work out the details :)

Thank you!!

Expand full comment

This is such a wonderful idea! I'm taking a few minutes to comment on my lunch break, but am looking forward to seeing what everyone is working on!

Ardour- the title is in flux. This is a YA portal fantasy that follows a girl struggling to cope with her grief and losing her sense of self in the process. She follows frantic cries in the middle of the night and wakes the next morning on a ship in a new realm, Ardour, that is undergoing a transformation of its own.

The rough draft is approximately 65K. I am in working on the first round of revisions and am looking to have those completed April/May of this year. I'm looking for a critique partner that can help me identify strengths/weakness in the plot, character arc progression, world building. I would also benefit from a cheerleader or accountability partner to help me stay on track!

Expand full comment

Her Wicked Nature, a queer YA fantasy, set in a fictional Slavic/Jewish medieval world.

Main character, Miriyam, teams up with fellow outsider, Idzi, to solve a mystery and winds up unraveling the sinister history of her community, her family, and herself.

There are gods and saints, monsters and magic- imagine The Witcher meets the Sunnydale Scoobies.

Draft is complete, currently 97k, though I am actively revising.

I am seeking feedback on whether the manuscript successfully delivers on plot development, character arcs, and world building, and am hoping to begin querying agents soon!

Thank you!

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023·edited Feb 15, 2023

Hi all! I’m Ann and I’m hoping to find a CP who also writes YA fantasy/ contemporary fantasy. Right now I’m looking at someone to be a cheerleader as I work through my first draft.

Anxiety has forced Lo into an isolated life. Her island is the last human settlement in a destroyed world.

When a boy washes ashore and lures her back to his city, she finds the world survived but the so did the source of its destruction.

Working (not quite) title: Moana X Atlantis

Genre: Fantasy/ solar punk

Reading level: YA

Word count: maybe 90k? It’s still WIP

Thank you 😊

Expand full comment

Hi! I'd love someone to read my UK based YA Valkyrie. It's a Norse mythology contemporary blend. Kara died, except she didn't and now she's haunted by dreams and visions of a fantastical life she can't possibly have had as she faces a manslaughter charge for a crime she can't remember. Twitter pitch: "Half norse myth, half murder mystery. Kara doesn’t remember that she was at a party, why she stole a car or why her DNA is on a murdered boy or why she keeps seeing ravens, winged women, or everyone’s souls..."

Rough draft approx 86k.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023·edited Feb 15, 2023

I’m also typing this out during my lunch break, but later I’ll take a look at their glorious list later. I have a little community on Wattpad, but I’ve always wanted to try having a CP outside of a bookclub setting of groups and assignments.

FANA- a dark high fantasy, with multiple lgbt romances, that covers adventurers, guilds, and other isekai anime-related topics. Reading level is either an aged-up YA or New Adult.

Currently at 50,000 words but I’m not even halfway through the story (I envision it as a lengthy standalone hah).

I’m looking for someone to engage with the story. Someone who will read for overall enjoyment levels and plot credibility. It covers concepts from gaming and things I haven’t a lot of expertise in, so I’m worried about that.

CW: lots of violence and violent themes

Thanks!

Expand full comment

Looking to connect with another experienced writer :-)

How Black the Bones - dark YA urban fantasy (with some rural settings) - finished at 74k. When Ellie’s father’s wizardly bones are stolen from his fresh grave in modern day Tennessee, Ellie begins a journey of retribution to learn who stole them--and why. At her side is hostage-turned-frenemy Jackson, clever as the devil and twice as handsome, with all the trouble to go along with it. On their cross-country trek to stop the sinister plan for her father's bones, Jackson’s deadly secrets and Ellie’s growing powers will wreak havoc not only on their lives, but their souls.

The book is super polished, I've been lightly querying on and off. I mostly want to form a connection for future YA and adult fantasy projects (namely one about a necromancer priestess hunting a supernatural serial killer in Victorian-era alternate Europe).

Historically my biggest weakness as a writer is with overall structure, so for the past few years I've been studying structure and how to leverage character traits to fuel overall themes and ratchet up the tension. Got burned out on publishing world for a while (agented, never sold anything), so my focus these days is on my general well-being as a reader and writer instead of grinding words. That means I'm not producing stuff super quickly, but I'll give great, detailed feedback on your work :-)

I'm 33, living in the beautiful South, with a career in Human Resources. Some of my favorite writers are Maggie Stiefvater, Laini Taylor, Scott Lynch, Anne Rice, and Kristin Cashore.

Expand full comment

Hi all!

Looking for a CP and/or reader. Currently have a couple projects -

Adult fantasy @ 92k | completed, looking for a final pass | The Witches Heart x Serpent and Dove x Midnight Mass | features cognizant trees, nefarious magic, religious conflict, and an exploration of grief

A forest witch must face her darkest fears and an angry god to save her home and the young girl who threatens to burn it all down.

YA fantasy draft @102k | currently editing | queer Beauty & the Beast x The Red Queen x Six of Crows

NA fantasy, just started drafting |

Happy for a one project swap or a lasting CP. Am flexible with timelines. Have 2 young kids and 2 dogs so appreciate some flexibility as well :) I can be a cheerleader or provide critiques. I work in environmental field so can also help with any nature aspects of a story.

Expand full comment

Title: Bury Me By Night

Genre: Gothic Thriller (historical) - An American girl travels to England to escape her family's secrets and hoping to marry well in 19th C. Regency-era London. Unfortunately, she may have entered a circle of friends dabbling in even darker matters, threatening her reputation and the fabric of nature as they know it. This is a "is it supernatural, or is it all in their minds?" type of story and features some dark themes and violence.

Reading level: YA

Word count: 90K

Looking for a cheerleader and gut check reader! I've been writing this novel for a couple years and keep restarting it. I recently did a big plot point change and re-started *again*... I would love to work with someone who can help me finally take this novel over the finish line! Accountability, letting me know overall "what works, what doesn't," that sort of thing. Also would love to provide the same in return!

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023·edited Feb 15, 2023

Hello guys! Love this idea and hopefully this will give me the kick up the butt I really need👀 Id also love to get to know more people in this field and I’m a very active critque partner if anyone is interested❤️

Title: N/A (undecided- I have an issue with naming! 🥴 I’ll decide when its done )

Genre: Romance, Fantasy, Mystery/Thriller

Reading Level: YA

Word-count: 20,000

Looking for: a good motivator and avid reader of fantasy YA/romance who can offer some great feedback and insight!🙂

Themes:

- love triangle

- found/lost family

- grunge/post apocalyptic setting (non dystopian)

-alt girl main protagonist

-black cat girl/sunshine man couple

-fairy tale-esque setting

- NO EROTICA/clean romance

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023·edited Feb 15, 2023

Hello, my name is Lou! My book HEROINES is a darkly funny adult literary thriller. I like to describe it as a thriller-shaped MY YEAR OF REST AND RELAXATION for the Twitter age. It's told in dual time lines, from the point of view of a depressed, sick girl who, as she becomes a fan of a popular boyband, is drawn into a circle of girls who would do anything for the boys they worship; and from the point of a view of a member of the boyband, years later, as he tries to redeem himself after several tumultuous, scandal-filled months, and must face not only his own immoral actions which helped him secure his spot at the top, but everything he made the girls – his fans – do.

It's pretty similar in mood/style to books such as Boy Parts by Eliza Clark and Bunny by Mona Awad. Trigger warnings include murder, illness (cancer), abuse mention, suicidal ideation, blood, violence.

I have a pretty well polished draft sitting at 100k. I have finished several drafts over the last couple of years and am looking for a few final read-throughs as I prepare to hopefully query in the next couple of months.

Expand full comment

Title: TarotPunkWIP

Pitch: A Tarot reader from the "bad" side of town is recruited into an elite magic school. At first, it's all about fitting into Society, courting a rich lover, and excelling in classes. But when students start getting murdered and the authorities bungle the case, she and her friends will have to figure out who's killing them--or be next.

Genre: Fantasy, Dark academia, Murder mystery

Reading level: Adult (CWs: Sex, Murder)

Word count: 62k and counting (it's in progress)

What you’re looking for in a reader: A CP who can trade chapters, or Developmental comments about the plot and whether it makes sense, Eventually a thorough editorial pass

Expand full comment

Hi everyone!

Title: Project AWE

Genre: Contemporary, thriller/horror. It's about family dynamics and character relationships.

At its heart, its a story about Peter, who is a grieving father trying to raise his two children. His older daughter, starts showcasing increasingly escalating bevahior as she becomes obsessed with the forest behind their house. And Peter searches for answers to help himself heal.

Reading level: Adult

Word count: ~80k. I am currently about to finish draft 2.

I'm always looking for writer friends, so we can cheer each other on, but also looking for a critique partner. I would love to read your book and you can read mine and we can discuss and critique each other's work. Once I finish this second draft I have 2 people in my personal life who will be reading it and would love another unbiased reader.

A bit about me.. I'm 28 years old, female, living in the US. I work full time at a tech firm and love the outdoors. I have a dog and a fiance and when I'm not working, or outside, I'm writing. I'm an avid reader and writer. Things I love to consume: Dark fantasy romance books, Horror/Thrillers, True crime, and others! I like stories that are strange, but all consuming, and take me on an emotional journey.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023·edited Feb 15, 2023

When You're Home- contemporary fiction, ya/adultish, upmarket

Summary- queer coming of age story. After big summer internship plans fall through you're forced to move home for the summer to the town that's been haunting you since you left. A lot's changed you've come out as queer dated girls and started to come to terms with all of the trauma that growing up here caused. Things are easier when you're home but what does that mean when your hometown holds more horror than help.

Word count- about 3K in current draft

What I'm Looking for- initially I'd like a gut check and a cheerleader. This is a project that I've worked on for a while but this most recent version I'd love some overall feedback and encouragement.

Expand full comment

Working Title: Gone Like Mist, about a girl forced to drop out of high school and give up her dreams of college after her younger sister's disappearance, until she receives a ghostly premonition indicating her sister might still be alive...for now. Inspired by the "Platte River death ship" legend which you can read about here: https://www.legendsofamerica.com/death-ship-wyoming/

Genre: Mystery with elements of supernatural horror

Reading level: YA

Word count: Currently 106,000, but I need to trim it down significantly!

What you’re looking for in a reader: A mix of thorough critique and cheerleading, with emphasis on filling plot holes, fleshing out character arcs, and beefing up the mystery/horror aspects as this is my first attempt at writing a mystery. I JUST finished the first draft a couple of days ago, so it's still in pretty rough shape!

Expand full comment

Title: TBD (project name: Turquoise)

Genre: High fantasy, politics focused

Reading Level: Adult

World Count: Currently re-drafting, final expected word count 160 k

What Ii'm looking for in a reader: Happy for someone who can nitpick and go brutal, but does need to be able to balance it with excitement and hype for the parts they like. I'm looking for big picture commentary at the moment, are things confusing, were do you lose interest, can you pick up on the foreshadowing?

Pitch: A failing kingdom whose magic is dying suddenly finds a young man of great but locked power, his power could save the crown or plunge the land into war depending on who wields it. A magic user determined for greatness, a trainee spy whose secrets are coming to light, a rebel keen to bleed the crown and a princess who doesn't care if a choice is bad, as long as she makes it.

All want the power this young man has but what are they willing to do to keep it?

Expand full comment